Catholic Diocese of Richmond

Search Parishes

School > Catholic Schools

ACRE Assessment

The National Catholic Educational Association Information for Growth Assessment of Children/Youth Religious Education is a religious academic assessment tool used by Catholic schools, parishes, and dioceses developed to accomplish four tasks:

  • To serve as a tool for assessing the effectiveness of catechetical/religious education programs
  • To summarize how well students in grade 5 (Level 1), grades 8-9 (Level 2), and grades 11-12 (Level 3) have comprehended the basic teachings of the Catholic church in the preceding years
  • To assess the religious beliefs, attitudes, practices, and perceptions of students in these grades
  • To provide information about areas of strength in catechetical/religious education programs as well as areas of weakness that may need additional attention or improvement.

Six domains which match the six tasks of catechesis found in both the General Directory for Catechesis (Vatican, 1997) and the National Directory for Catechesis (USCCB, 2005) frame the cognitive section of the assessment tool:

  1. Knowledge of Faith
  2. Liturgical Life
  3. Moral Formation
  4. Prayer
  5. Communal Life
  6. Missionary Spirit

Performance Series Assessment

Performance Series is a computer-adaptive skills assessment used for grades 2-8 to measure student growth in reading and math.  These assessments are administered throughout the school year to allow teachers to customize and modify instruction for individual student needs.


SAT – Scholastic Assessment Test

The CollegeBoard SAT test is an entrance exam that allows college admissions offices to assess high school student achievement in the domains of math, reading, and writing.