

catholic bishop abuse reporting service Who is a Metropolitan?

The Catholic Church in the United States has **32 Provinces.**

Each province is made up of **dioceses** that are grouped together.

A province has one **archdiocese** plus one or more dioceses.

The other dioceses in the province are refered to as **suffragan dioceses.**

The archbishop of the archdiocese, also known as the **metropolitan**, presides over the province.

With the **new law** set down in Vos estis lux mundi, a metropolitan may be authorized by the Holy See to undertake responsibilities for investigating reports involving bishops pertaining to sexual abuse in the Church.