Catholic Diocese of Richmond

Search Parishes

Office of Catholic Schools to Recognize Teachers at 2024 Catholic Excellence Awards

April 22, 2024

Bishop Barry C. Knestout and the Office of Catholic Schools for the Diocese of Richmond will recognize educators on Thursday, April 25, at the seventh annual Excellence in Catholic Education Awards ceremony, held in Richmond. Administrators and colleagues at each diocesan Catholic school selected and nominated an educator based on their strong commitment to Catholic education through their leadership, passion, and service to parents, colleagues, and school communities.

During the ceremony, the Office of Catholic Schools will announce three recipients of the regional Catholic Educator Award as well as the recipient of the prestigious Elizabeth Ann Seton Award. These educators will be chosen from 23 of their colleagues who have all been recognized for their dedication to Catholic education.

The teachers receiving the Excellence in Catholic Education Award are:

Angela Rasmussen, All Saints Catholic School

Kristin Patterson, Catholic High School

Michael Bruscia, Charlottesville Catholic School

Amanda Owens, Christ the King Catholic School

Charlotte Jenkins, Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic School

Jenni Gray, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Catholic School

Peggy Rogala, Peninsula Catholic High School

Emily Pauler, Portsmouth Catholic School

Kristin Baxley, Roanoke Catholic School

Kitzya Ramirez Leon, Sacred Heart Catholic School

Anne Johnson, St. Anne Catholic School

Erin Herrity, Saint Benedict Catholic School

Teresa Ross McBarron, Saint Bridget Catholic School

Magdalena F. Cox, St. Edward-Epiphany Catholic School

Lorri Lin Griffin, Saint Gregory the Great Catholic School

Eileen M. Mayette, St. John the Apostle Catholic School

Renee Fraine, St. Joseph Catholic School

Denise O. Reardon, Saint Mary’s Catholic School

Sr. Mary Aquinas Halbmaier, O.P., Saint Mary Star of the Sea Catholic School

Michelle Powell, St. Matthew’s Catholic School

Emily Danovich, St. Pius X Catholic School

Annette J. Martinez, Star of the Sea Catholic School

Meg Anderson, The Blessed Sacrament Huguenot School


Congratulations to all of our Catholic educators and thank you for all you do for the Diocese of Richmond!